My Passion

Since grade school I’ve always a love for numbers, math, and money. So it was only natural for me to major in Finance. After joining my sorority, I decided to take on the roles of Treasurer, Budget and Finance chair, and Fund-raising chair to get some experience doing financial work. (I didn’t want to spend 3 years studying something that I might end up hating when I got into the real world!) Come to find out, I loved it! Within a couple months in the position I found that we’d been overcharged since the previous administration by the bank and immediately sought a refund. I worked on creating the budget, eliminating the over budgeting issues brought on by a mismanagement of expense documents from past administrations, and started to provide the chapter with monthly financial reports so that they stayed up-to-date on the chapter’s finances. This may sound boring to most but it’s exciting to me!

Unlike finance, inventing came to me a little later in life. It all started with me jumping up from a dream! The idea: interchangeable heel! I wanted to create a high heel shoe that can easily turn into a flat. I got a loan from my aunt for a patent search (which was all paid back in full) and even made a prototype from an old high heel and sandal I had. Needless to say I did not go through with it. I simply did not have the funds or resources at the time. By the time I had an opportunity to seek more resources a couple of people had already gone through with the idea. I even saw one inventor on Shark Tank asking for hundreds of thousands of dollars! My goal was to make an affordable shoe and after all the costs she incurred in making the shoe she had to sell them for at least $150 each. After watching that episode I was glad things worked out the way they did. I’ve had plenty of ideas since then but never enough funding to get them out of the idea phase but that never hindered my spirit! I’m excited to say that I am currently working on a project that seems as though it will be feasible! I am just in the research phase and I won’t know if it’s feasible until all of my research is complete!

 

All I can say is stay tuned for something great!

 

 

These are just a few of my passions. What are some of yours? Leave your comments below!

Leave a comment